WHAT IS A LIBRARY DATABASE? A searchable online collection of magazine, journal & newspaper articles. Libraries pay the subscription fee for you and the passwords are in your agenda.
What information do you need?
Canadian |
|
Careers |
|
Ecology |
|
French |
|
General
|
|
Literature |
|
Medicine |
|
Music |
|
Science |
|
Spanish |
|
Social Science |
|
Statistics |



82 responses so far ↓
Maria // March 22, 2007 at 12:51 am
how come the Literary Resource Centre and the Opposing Viewpoints link doesn’t work?
ymci // March 22, 2007 at 1:17 am
YMCI tried the links. They work just fine. Please remember to use the password found in your student agenda.
Tanya // March 30, 2007 at 6:33 pm
Where is the library located in the school?
ymci // March 30, 2007 at 9:02 pm
The library is located across the courtyard from the Guidance department, on the north side of the school.
Gordon // April 2, 2007 at 5:02 pm
What is the range of selection of books you have in your YMCI library?
Would it include anything on the subject of rocket ships?
Thanks
ymci // April 3, 2007 at 2:53 pm
Hi Gordon,
School libraries support the school’s curriculum. Although rocketry is not taught at York Mills, you will find information on rockets in our print (Britannica, World Book) encyclopedias and in our online science encyclopedias (AccessScience, Knowledge Ontario databases). Ask a teacher-librarian for the passwords for remote access.
Muriel // April 20, 2007 at 5:51 pm
What sort of academics are required for one to become a librarian. I want to know because i am interested in becoming one
ymci // April 22, 2007 at 12:16 am
Hi Muriel,
You would need a Master’s degree in Information Science to become a librarian.
Tyrone // April 23, 2007 at 6:39 pm
What section can i find books on egypt?
ymci // April 23, 2007 at 6:53 pm
Hi Tyrone,
#932 for ancient Egypt. #962 for modern Egypt.
Jamal // April 24, 2007 at 2:37 pm
What is your range of resources in the library
jible // April 26, 2007 at 4:46 pm
What hours is the library open?
pedro // April 27, 2007 at 2:00 am
what do we do if we have forgotten the password for knowledge Ontario data
ymci // April 27, 2007 at 3:48 am
Hi Jamal,
Our library has 21,000 books, 45 magazine subscriptions, 4 daily newspaper subscriptions, 40 online database subscriptions, and some e-books. We have resources in French as well as in English and there are 60 computers for student use.
ymci // April 27, 2007 at 3:51 am
Hi Jible,
The library is open from 8:15 a.m. ’til 4 p.m. every day, although it usually closes later than that.
ymci // April 27, 2007 at 3:53 am
Hi Pedro,
If you have forgotten a password, ask a teacher-librarian or pick up a library brochure at the main desk. Passwords are also in your student agenda.
christine // April 29, 2007 at 8:33 pm
hi why can i not enter the ASAP databases from my home computer ?pls help asap!
ymci // April 29, 2007 at 11:27 pm
Hi Christine,
The Academic ASAP database is one of the Knowledge Ontario databases. Click Knowledge Ontario and then enter the password. At home, you always need to enter a password.
Fei // April 30, 2007 at 8:41 pm
How come the password for knowledge ontario database doesnt work? plz help asap!
ymci // April 30, 2007 at 9:11 pm
Hi there,
Check the password in the library brochure by the door of the library or ask a teacher-librarian. It worked just fine for me.
Rachel // May 2, 2007 at 12:23 am
The password for the Gale databases aren’t working, and I need access to the Encyclopedia of Sociology for English. Are the passwords updated, or is it that I cannot access it through a home computer?
ymci // May 2, 2007 at 12:47 am
Hi Rachel,
The Encyclopedia of Sociology is a Knowledge Ontario E-book. That uses a new password. Our old Gale password is only used for Literature Resource Centre and Opposing Viewpoints.
Check your e-mail for the Knowledge Ontario password.
Kim // May 2, 2007 at 5:49 pm
Where in the online library resources can I find journals since nothing came up when I searched under that category?
ymci // May 2, 2007 at 6:35 pm
Hi Kim,
First, on the databases page (above), click Knowledge Ontario databases. You will see a list of databases. If you are looking for scholarly journals, I recommend that you look in the Academic OneFile database. Click the name of this database to enter it and then do either a subject or a keyword search for your term(s). Remember to limit your search to peer reviewed journals. If you are doing this from home, you will need to enter the password for the Knowledge Ontario group of databases. Ask a teacher-librarian or look in the brochure at the library exit for this password.
Second, under TDSB databases (above), click EBSCO and search in the Academic Premier database.
Third, E-library can also be searched by limiting to scholarly journals. Check off that box when you search.
Carole // May 4, 2007 at 6:32 am
Uhh, what am I supposed to enter in the Knowledge Ontario Databases when it asks me for the “library ID, barcode, or other ID”?
ymci // May 7, 2007 at 1:18 am
Hi Carole,
You’re supposed to enter the Knowledge Ontario password (this is a new password). Look for it in the Library information brochure at the library exit or ask a teacher-librarian.
gabriel A // May 11, 2007 at 5:15 pm
I was just wondering if there are any books on anatomy because I have a science project on it.
ymci // May 13, 2007 at 11:43 pm
Hi Gabriel,
You’ll find anatomy books in the #611 range.
Shaquille // May 15, 2007 at 6:58 pm
What is the maximum amount of books I may take out of the library?
ymci // May 16, 2007 at 1:05 am
Hi Shaquille,
You may take out 6 books on any one topic.
Lebron James // May 18, 2007 at 4:48 pm
WHY DOESNT ACCESS SCIENCE WORK!?!
sherry // May 18, 2007 at 5:29 pm
hi!
the york mills page is great! you’ve helped me with so many of my projects. the research options are just unbelievable. i can’t wrap my brain around it. when i go to university, will i be able to use these magnificent research banks? i’m nervous, what will i do without the douglas scott page. please answer my questions, put me out of my misery.
Thanks,
Sherry
ymci // May 18, 2007 at 6:29 pm
Dear Lebron,
A hoopster like you should know all the passwords! Log in to AccessScience in the upper left-hand corner of the login page. The password is in your student agenda.
ymci // May 18, 2007 at 6:44 pm
Sherry –
Yes, you can be a research diva! Wow your profs! Just keep those passwords!
Divas of the World Unite!
A. Nnoyed // May 20, 2007 at 3:18 pm
What is the password for the Literature Resource Center? I was not able to locate it in the student agenda.
ymci // May 20, 2007 at 10:26 pm
The password for the Literature Resource Center is the Gale password, located on page 14 of your agenda.
Sarah // May 22, 2007 at 9:58 pm
what is the username and password for pages of the past?
ymci // May 23, 2007 at 12:15 am
Hi Sarah,
Check your email.
Reba Mcentyre // May 24, 2007 at 2:56 pm
Hello. I was wondering where I could find books on Sri Lanka and Pakistan. I was interested in going there.
Bob // May 30, 2007 at 3:08 pm
i cant seem to get into the pages of the past database with the passwords in teh agenda. has it changed?
ymci // May 30, 2007 at 3:38 pm
Hi Bob,
Yes, the password has changed. Pick up a copy of the new brochure at the library desk.
ymci // May 30, 2007 at 3:48 pm
Dear Ms. McEntyre,
For books on Sri Lanka and Pakistan, try 954 in History and 915.4 in Geography.
omg // June 5, 2007 at 5:32 pm
Im looking for books on the Black Slave trade in America… what section is it in?
ymci // June 5, 2007 at 6:28 pm
For the Slave Trade in North America, look in # 306.362 (social issues) and in#973.0496 (history). Check out the same numbers in Reference. There you’ll find the new Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History.
Ali A // October 13, 2007 at 5:01 pm
do you have any books on bangladesh cricket?! theyre sooo good! love bengali everything!
ymci // October 13, 2007 at 8:26 pm
No books, but if you do a power search in Knowledge Ontario (search all its databases at once), you will find 1026 news articles on cricket in Bangladesh. Most of these articles are from the United News of Bangladesh. You can also read the Bangladeshi newspapers online at http://www.kidon.com/media-link/bd.php
IK // October 17, 2007 at 7:33 pm
Hi i was wondering if the school has a Britannica username and if not, why not???
ymci // October 17, 2007 at 8:55 pm
The school does not have a Britannica subscription, but we do have the most recent edition of Britannica in print form.
台灣人 // December 13, 2007 at 12:53 am
Can we watch soccer in library everyday?
ymci // December 16, 2007 at 7:32 pm
You can watch soccer any day after school, after 3 p.m.
R // February 1, 2008 at 1:52 pm
Could you tell me the username and password for career cruising? Thanks
ymci // February 1, 2008 at 8:54 pm
Hi R,
Check your agenda, page 14, for passwords.
Armin H // April 30, 2008 at 2:25 pm
I like books
Ryan H // November 4, 2008 at 10:34 pm
I agree with Armin H
theguyunderatree // November 6, 2008 at 11:05 pm
I like books… and cookies.
btw, are there any concept artbooks at the school library?
ymci // November 9, 2008 at 10:23 pm
To: guy under a tree. If you mean books dealing with art for video games, no; however, the library does have books dealing with manga art and some books on the art of graphic novelists like Neil Gaiman. Suggest a title for the library to buy!
theguyunderatree // November 10, 2008 at 11:06 pm
Video games would be great as well, but what I would hope to find are movie concept art books. To be precise, Lord of the Rings. With such epic scales of character and world designs, it truly is worth reading. (so are video games, which are even more distinct in themes) Thanks for your answer.
help // November 19, 2008 at 9:29 pm
What’s the password for “Literature Resource Centre (Gale)” site?
ymci // November 20, 2008 at 8:47 pm
L:iterature Resource Center password is in your agenda, page 12
Eunice // December 7, 2008 at 1:23 am
how come the Toronto star pages of the past link didn’t work?
ymci // December 7, 2008 at 1:51 pm
Hi Eunice,
The link does work. YMCI just tried it. You may have to try twice. Sometimes the server is a little slow.
Rachel // January 13, 2009 at 9:57 pm
can we access the Toronto Star Pages of the Past from home?
ymci // January 13, 2009 at 10:16 pm
Hi Rachel,
Of course. You must log in via the school library databases page. The password is in your agenda, page 12.
Ivailo I // February 4, 2009 at 3:15 pm
Wow, this is great that you guys have this forum going! I stumbled upon the library website and I am impressed at the progress since I was at York Mills.
messd // March 4, 2009 at 7:29 pm
How do you get into career cruising
ymci // March 4, 2009 at 9:47 pm
The address is http://www.careercruising.com The username & PW are in the library brochure by the exit gates.
SD // May 24, 2009 at 9:52 pm
when I clicked on the pages of the past link from my home computer, it asked me for a proquest ID, so how can I get in?
ymci // May 25, 2009 at 7:27 am
Hi Sunny,
You must go in from the school library databases page, NOT from Google, or the password (agenda, p. 12) won’t work.
the king // May 26, 2009 at 9:34 pm
do u have a biography on John Lennon
B. // June 7, 2009 at 1:57 pm
how does one log into naxos music library? , is it a school library card or toronto public card?
ymci // June 8, 2009 at 8:38 am
Hi there,
The Naxos passsword is the same as the Knowledge Ontario databases password. See your agenda, p. 12.
angel // July 1, 2009 at 8:14 pm
Hi,
Could I have the password for carreer cruising ?
keogh // September 3, 2009 at 1:23 pm
HI Fabi,
The password for Career Cruising is in your agenda, on page 12.
emily // September 26, 2009 at 6:28 pm
i was just going through the resources on the page from my computer at home, and when i put in the user name and password i found in my agenda and it wouldn’t let me access the sites. how do i access them?
ymci // September 27, 2009 at 11:52 am
Hi Emily,
To access any of our databases, you must enter from the library databases page. You cannot google the database and enter. On our library databases page, click the database you want and at the prompt, enter the username and password from your agenda. This will take you into the database. There are different passwords for each group of databases. If you are still having trouble, see me in the library on Monday. I just checked them and they are all working fine.
Suraya // September 30, 2009 at 5:24 pm
I have to do a chemistry project on the world events (scientific and otherwise) that occurred during the lifetime of Amedeo Avogadro (mid 1700s – mid 1800s). Any suggestions as to what resources I should use? I tried to use Grolier, but it didn’t help much.
ymci // October 1, 2009 at 1:45 pm
Hi Suraya,
I would suggest 2 Reference books. The Timetables of Science 509 HEL will give you the historical events that were happening during Avogadro’s lifetime. Look up the years you want and you will find what was happening generally in those years, plus what was happening in anthropology, astronomy, biology, chemistry, earth science, math, medicine, physics and technology. Science and Its Times 509 SCI is an 8-volume encyclopedia that discussed the social significance of scientific discoveries. Look up Avogadro in the index and you’ll find he is in Vol 5, 461-462.
If you are at home, you may consult Science and its Times electronically. On the databases page, click the Virtual Reference Library (ebooks) link and use the password in your agenda, p. 13. It is one of our e-books.
daniel l // October 9, 2009 at 1:33 pm
i love booooooksss
Terry // November 3, 2009 at 7:57 pm
what literary sources are in the library?
ymci // November 5, 2009 at 5:04 pm
All of the books in the #800 range cover literature, plus on the library databases page, you will find the Literature Resource Center covering all the major literary journals and magazines. We have a new database this year, Books and Authors, that allows you to search for titles by plot, character, setting, etc.
Terry // November 7, 2009 at 7:24 pm
do you have reference collection in literature?
ymci // November 8, 2009 at 6:12 pm
Of course! Check all the #800’s in the Reference section.